All posts by John Chenery

St Thomas Way Pilgrimage – Schedule Change – Rest Day Moved

Please note, that owing to an enforced change of our accommodation bookings, the first rest day of the St Thomas Way Pilgrimage will now be in St Athan not Cardiff i.e. we will be staying 2 nights in St Athan and only 1 night in Cardiff. The revised schedule is:

Day 1 Sat Aug 13 Travel to Swansea and Induction

Day 2 Sun Aug 14 Swansea to Port Talbot

Day 3 Mon Aug 15 Port Talbot to St Brides Major

Day 4 Tue Aug 16 St Brides Major to St Athan

Day 5 Wed Aug 17 Rest Day in St Athan

Day 6 Thu Aug 18 St Athan to Cardiff

Day 7 Fri Aug 19 Cardiff to Caerphilly

Day 8 Sat Aug 20 Caerphilly to Newport

Day 9 Sun Aug 21 Newport to Usk

Day 10 Mon Aug 22 Usk to Abergavenny

Day 11  Tue Aug 23 Rest Day in Abergavenny

Day 12  Wed Aug 24 Abergavenny to Longtown

Day 13 Thu Aug 25 Longtown to Ewyas Harold

Day 14 Fri Aug 26 Ewyas Harold to Hereford

Day 15 Sat Aug 27 Celebration Day in Hereford

Day 16 Sun Aug 28 Journey Home

Pat Cripps RIP

Pilgrims will be saddened to learn of the passing of one of our former pilgrim walkers from the Redhill area. Pat was an active pilgrim between 1991 and 1996, and until the stiles got too high for her.

Pat died on Thursday 25th November. Sarah, her daughter, writes: “I was hoping that you could let any of the pilgrims she walked with know. She truly loved going on the A&B Pilgrimages. We thought she was mad! It gave her such strength and focus after my dad died though. She was always so uplifted when she came home.

Her funeral mass will be in St Joseph’s Redhill, date TBA, hopefully before Christmas.”

If you knew Pat and would like to share memories or a photo, please reply to his posting with a comment. Like some of you I did not know Pat. In looking for something to share in these times, in the Middle Ages it was believed that if a pilgrim died whilst on pilgrimage, they would by-pass purgatory and go straight to heaven. It is a comforting thought to us all on life’s pilgrim journey …

and may Pat rest in eternal peace. Amen

Best wishes

David

Pilgrimage Coordinator

We’ve tracked down a couple of photos of Pat from the 1992 St David’s Pilgrimage.

Pat sitting up in bed, 1992
Pat at the back with Keith, 1992

THE OLD WAY PILGRIMAGE – ROUTE OUTLINE

Further to Chris’ post, here is the planned itinerary:

Sat Aug 14 Southampton to Hamble
Sun Aug 15 Hamble to Wickham
Mon Aug 16 Wickham to Havant
Tue Aug 17 Havant to Chichester
Wed Aug 18 Rest Day
Thu Aug 19 Chichester to Arundel
Fri Aug 20 Arundel to Steyning
Sat Aug 21 Steyning to Pyecombe
Sun Aug 22 Pyecombe to Lewes
Mon Aug 23 Rest Day
Tue Aug 24 Lewes to Berwick
Wed Aug 25 Berwick to Polegate
Thu Aug 26 Polegate to Penhurst
Fri Aug 27 Penhurst to Westfield
Sat Aug 28 Westfield to Rye